Thai Curry Butternut Squash Soup

I have a confession to make. Prior to this past summer, I had never tried squash, besides green and yellow zucchini. I thought spaghetti squash and acorn squash and butternut squash were all pretty much more so fall decorations, like gourds or pumpkins, so I didn’t give them a second glance.. Until my blog reading addiction reared it’s ugly head and I could no longer avoid these bizarre pumpkin alien hybrids.

First victim? Spaghetti Squash. Still a favorite to this day. Even the boy loves it, and it keeps our carb levels super low late at night when I finally get around to cooking (I have strange eating habits, we’ll touch more on that in a future post).

Butternut Squash came next. I’m trying to remember why/when I first bought one, or if it was given to me from someone’s garden, but I know I cubed, seasoned and roasted it and immediately. fell. in. love. Like, sometimes I’ll roast one and just leave it out on the stove and the boy and I will snack on it all day long. It’s that good.

There’s an acorn squash that’s been hiding in the back left corner of my fridge staring at me, but I am just not ready to even try to figure out what to do with it. Feel free to leave suggestions.

So back to butternut squash. A friend and I came into an abundance of butternut squash this fall and as I just kept roasting it, she blazed a new trail and made a soup. No, not a soup, THE soup. I finally broke her down and got the recipe for the best fall soup you’ll ever have. Trust me.

Thai Curry Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups cubed butternut squash
  • 1 can lite coconut milk
  • 2 Tb red curry paste (I used the whole jar, I like the kick it gives the soup, and it’s still not crazy spicy)
  • 4 cups low sodium vegetable stock
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 vidalia onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • salt
  • pepper
  • garnish : chopped peanuts & cilantro (for garnish – gross.. can you tell I am totally not a cilantro fan yet?) – I used neither
  • crusty bread for dipping! essential. dying

First things first, things may seem a little strange because I doubled this recipe – it’s worth it, it freezes well, and it’s effing awesome. Now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s cook!

Gather ingredients:

image

The first thing I did was peel, cut off the ends, deseed and chop up the butternt sqush into 1 inch cubes. For the double batch I wound up using about 1.5 average sized butternuts.

image

image

Notice my ipad recipe book. love.

Next, mince your garlic, or use the amazing weed grinder garlic twist.

image

Next mince up the vidalia onions. Add to deep soup pot with coconut oil and minced garlic. Let the magic begin..

image

Sautee until onions on medium low heat until they are translucent, about 7 minutes. Add full jar of red curry paste – trust me.. you won’t regret it..

image

Sautee five minutes. Add cubed butternut squash and vegetable broth. Simmer 20-30 minutes until squash is soft.

image

Ready for the fun part? let’s set up the station, bring out the food processor and extra pot and get at it.

image

Present from the boy.. ❤ Anyways.. Process a cup or two at a time from the boiling pot and place into the new boiling pot.

image

Add lite coconut milk, lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.

imageimage

Simmer for another 20 minutes or so, salt and pepper to taste. Finito!

This was an all around winner. It freezes well and everyone that forced to try tried it said they loved it. It’s souper thick and souper creamy and souper filling. Hehe, souper.

Don’t forget the crusty bread! I suggest just giving each person a bowl of the soup, half of a crusty whole grain baguette and no spoon. Drooling just thinking about it..

Leave a Reply

